29.-Ninth Ministry of Saskatchewan, as at Jan. 31, 1962

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 8, 1960: 38 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and 17 Liberal.)

Note.—Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier and President of the Executive Council	Hon, I. C. NOLLET Hon. A. G. KUZIAK Hon. R. A. WALKER Hon. R. BROWN Hon. J. W. ERB Hon. C. G. WILLIS Hon, A. M. NICHOLSON Hon. O. A. TURNBULL Hon. W. G. DAVIES	July 10, 1944 Aug. 1, 1960 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 Jan. 8, 1946 Oct. 24, 1952 July 27, 1956 July 27, 1956 July 27, 1956 July 27, 1956 July 11, 1960 July 11, 1960 July 11, 1960	Nov. 7, 1961 Apr. 1, 1953 Nov. 7, 1961 (Nov. 13, 1944 July 27, 1956 July 27, 1956 (July 27, 1956 (July 27, 1956 (July 27, 1956 (Aug. 30, 1957) Apr. 1, 1960 Nov. 21, 1960 Nov. 7, 1961 Nov. 21, 1961

Subsection 9.-Alberta

The Government of Alberta is composed of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. There are 65 members in the Legislative Assembly, elected for a maximum period of five years. The Hon. J. Percy Page, Lieutenant-Governor at Jan. 31, 1962, was commissioned to office Dec. 19, 1959. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation (1905) are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 116. Premiers since Confederation are listed in the same edition, p. 117.

Each member of the Legislative Assembly (except the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker) receives a sessional indemnity of \$3,000 plus \$1,500 expense allowance plus \$15 for each day during the session when he is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence, both tax free. The Speaker's sessional indemnity is \$4,750 plus \$2,250 expense allowance and the Deputy Speaker's sessional indemnity is \$4,000 plus \$2,000 expense allowance. Each also receives \$15 for each day during the session when he is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence. The Premier, in addition to the sessional indemnity, receives \$14,000, other Ministers receives \$11,000 and each member of the Opposition receives \$625; there is no Opposition Leader in the present Legislature.

30.—Legislatures of Alberta, 1935-60, as at Jan. 31, 1962

Norg.-Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 82, and for 1924-34 in the 1938 edition, p. 117.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 22, 1935 Mar. 21, 1940 Aug. 8, 1944 Aug. 17, 1948 Aug. 5, 1952 June 29, 1955 June 18, 1959	8th	9 4 5 5 3 5 1	Feb. 6, 1936 Feb. 20, 1941 Feb. 22, 1945 Feb. 17, 1949 Feb. 19, 1953 Aug. 17, 1955 Feb. 11, 1960	Feb. 16, 1940 July 7, 1944 July 16, 1948 June 28, 1952 May 12, 1955 May 9, 1959

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Jan. 31, 1962.